Flower Mermaid

Acrylic, Cut Out, Ink

“Collaborating with Taylor is a very organic process. I set up the paper and the table for her. For color ratios, I either have her pick three to four colors or I pick them, and if I want a certain color to be prominent I give her a bigger brush for that color. She uses separate brushes for each color. I want her to be able to work on her life drawing skills during these sessions, so I always give her reference to work from. A plant, a coffee mug, a shape or animals. She’s three years old, so the first couple of paintings she really looks at the image or item and after a while when her attention span veers, she uses it as a starting point and as she’s painting she says ‘Oh there’s coffee in the mug’ or ‘The doggy has seven legs and he’s a princess so he needs a tiara.'”

An amazing program, MAKE/BELIEVE, mentioned me on their blog. Very exciting! Go check out their program.

Leave a Reply

